8 members of NPA ‘terrorist group’ surrender

Eight fighters of the now considered by the government as terrorist group NPA have surrendered to government authorities and returned to the folds of law since President Rodrigo Duterte lifted the government’s unilateral ceasefire against the CPP-NPA-NDF, the 10th Infantry Division said.

“NPA members identified by their aliases for security reasons Joni, Mike, Tenen, Ranil, Jimboy and Francis surrendered to the 67th Infantry Battalion in Davao Oriental while Robert and Rustom give up to the 73rd Infantry Battalion in Davao Occidental,” 10ID said.

Hardship and hunger while being with the NPA drove them to return to the folds of the law.

The army division said its the offensive operations resulted to two encounters, eight NPA surrendered, and discovery of five encampments and nine IEDs recovered.

“They must realize that they are with a terrorist group sowing fear on our own people,” Major General Rafael C Valencia, 10ID commander said encouraging NPA members to return to the folds of law.

He also pleads with the people in areas were the NPAs thrive not to coddle these terrorists but instead encourage them (NPA) to voluntarily give up.